For immediate or urgent situations, please call 911 or your local law enforcement agency.
Child Abuse or Neglect
To report child abuse or neglect or parent/child conflict occurring in Portage County, call Portage County Health and Human Services at 715-345-5350 and press option 3.
Adult and Elder Abuse or Neglect
If you suspect abuse of an elder (adults 60 years or older) or an adult at risk (adults 18-59 years old, with a physical or mental condition that impairs the ability to care for their own needs), the abuse or neglect is occurring within Portage County, Wisconsin, and is not occurring in a State-licensed facility, call the Portage County Health and Human Services Department at 715-345-5350 option 2 and report the incident to the Adult Protective Services intake worker.
If the abuse or neglect is occurring in a Wisconsin State-licensed facility, call the Ombudsman for the Elderly and Disabled at 800-815-0015 or refer to the Wisconsin Department of Health and Family Services' internet listing of Wisconsin County Elder Abuse Agencies at the Wisconsin Department of Health Services Website.
Mental Health Crisis
If you are experiencing a mental health crisis or are a member of law enforcement or other community member and need to speak to a mental health counselor, call Portage County Health and Human Services at 715-345-5350 and press option 4.