Recorded Documents

Fee Schedule

Recording & Filing Fees

Fees are governed by Wisconsin Statutes and are uniform throughout the State.

Fax Fees

  • Out of State - $5
  • Out of County - $3
  • In County - $1

Land Description Copies

  • Maps - $1 per page
  • Printouts - $0.25 per page
  • Labels - $0.10 per label


  • Subdivisions - $50
  • Cemetery Plats - $50
  • Condominium Plat - $50
  • TPP DOT Right-of-Way Plats - $25

Recorded Documents

Recorded documents will be returned to the sender or designee.

  • Deeds, Mortgages, Land Contracts, Satisfactions, Lis Pendens, etc., and Miscellaneous Document

    • Entitled to be recorded/filed in the Register of Deeds Office.
    • Cost: $30 per document.
    • Note: Maximum size sheet is 8½ by 14 inches. One side of the sheet constitutes a page and any riders attached are considered another page.
    • Only one mortgage can be Partial Released, Assigned, or satisfied with a single instrument.

Federal Tax Liens

  • Federal Tax Lien Search - $10 Fee per name

Uniform Commercial Code (UCC) Information

  • Financing Statements
    • UCC 11 - recorded searches (per debtor) - $15.
    • Certified Copies - $1 additional per document
    • After the change 7/1/01 should be done at the state:
      • Search - $15
      • Copy - $1

Standard forms are the approved State of Wisconsin UCC forms (6/1/98) used for the intention specified on the forms.

  • Extra pages render a form nonstandard.
  • UCC Filings: (Per State Statute)

As of 7/1/01 should be filed with state DFI unless real estate related - then recording fees apply.

  • UCCs - $30
  • UCC Amendments - $30

Real Estate Related Only - Other filed with DFI

  • Farm Machinery
  • Livestock
  • Musical Instruments and Sound Systems
  • Recreational Vehicles
  • Electronics
  • Office Equipment and Specialized Business Equipment
  • Crops in the Field

Standard Document Format & Requirements

If you wish to record legal documents affecting real estate such as deeds, land contracts, mortgages, satisfactions, and assignments, you will need to use a form that conforms to the Wisconsin standard document format. Most office supply firms offer forms that do meet the requirements of Wisconsin Statute 59.43 (2m).

Use of the standard document format helps to assure that important pieces of information are not inadvertently omitted, that the document is legible, and that it is properly indexed. The use of the standard document format also makes processing and retrieval more efficient.

Most states in the Midwest require some type of standard document format. If you are from a state outside of Wisconsin, you may add a cover sheet to your document to make it conform to the Wisconsin standard document format. You can print or type the document title, return address, and parcel identification number in the proper locations and attach the cover sheet to the front of your document so that it becomes the first page.

Other Needed Materials

Requirements of the format of the standard document are as follows:

  • The upper right-hand corner of the document must be completely blank (at least 3 inches by 3 inches for our official recording stamp.
  • The name and return address must be either (1) directly under the recording area, or (2) on the left side of the page and within the top 3 inches.
  • The title of the document must be within the top 3 inches of the page but not in the 3 inches by 3 inches corner left blank for our recording stamp.
  • The title, parties, return address, and legal description must be legible and reproducible.
  • The paper is white, standard weight, and letter or legal sized.
  • The ink is black so that the document will scan properly.
  • The top margin is a minimum of ½ inch for every page. Other margins are a minimum of ¼ inch.
  • The pages are not hinged.

Remember, you still need:

  • Complete legal descriptions if the document refers to specific parcels of land.
  • Original signatures notarized or authenticated.
  • Proper fees accompany the document.
  • Name of the document drafter.
  • Wisconsin Real Estate Transfer Return (completed and with proper fee or exemption Number ) for deeds and land contracts.
  • Checklist for Preparation of Documents to be Recorded

Checklist for Preparation of Documents to be Recorded

  • Your document format must conform to Wisconsin Act 110, Standard Document Format implemented September 1, 1996. Requirements include 3 inches by 3 inches blank space in the upper right-hand corner, minimum ½ inch margins at the top of each page, minimum ¼ inch margins on the sides and bottom of the first page, white standard-weight paper, and no hinged pages.
  • A return name and address must be entered on the document either under the recording area on the right or else on the upper left corner under the space for the document number.
  • The document title, return address, party names, and legal description must be legible and reproducible.
  • Documents pertaining to real estate require complete legal descriptions of the property.
  • Original signatures are required.
  • The document must refer to land within the county in which it is recorded.
  • A complete Wisconsin Real Estate Transfer form, revised January 2000 or later, is required for conveyances.
  • Multiple mortgages, assignments, or satisfactions may not be placed on the same instrument.
  • A notary's authentication and valid commission date are required.
  • The correct recording fee is required. See the Register of Deeds fee schedule.
  • Per the attorney general's opinion dated October 15, 1999, no re-recordings are acceptable.

Wisconsin Real Estate Transfer Tax Fee

  • A transfer form and fee or exemption number are required for all conveyances Except when exemptions, 1 and 10M apply. A statement would need to be inserted on the document stating that when using exemption 1 or 10M.
  • The form is to be completed in detail.
  • Electronic Real Estate Transfer Returns eRETR.
  • The current rate of fee is $3 per $1,000 of value rounded to the next higher hundred. See the form for exceptions.
  • Valuation must be shown when documents are exempt except if exempt under 77.25 (3) and (11).
  • Both Grantor and Grantee or their agent must sign the form.
  • The parcel identifier number must be on the form.

All Real Estate Recordings received after 3:30 pm are recorded the following business day.